University of Texas System Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (UT LSAMP)

Academic Level
Issue Area
Key Personnel
Program Focus
Summer Bridge,
Undergraduate Research


In 1991, a state-wide effort was initiated by the eight University of Texas (UT) System campuses and six Community college districts to increase the number of students from historically underrepresented groups to earn a STEM associate and/or bachelor degree. In 1992, the UT System Louis Strokes Alliance for Minority Participation (UT LSAMP) implements sustainable, high-impact strategies such as having their students participate in research. Once students graduate, UT LSAMP encourages their graduates to pursue a graduate STEM degree or join the STEM workforce. 

Program Description

The UT LSAMP program implements sustainable high-impact strategies, one of them being their Summer Research Academy, which can be done abroad.  The Summer Research Academy is a residential program in which undergraduate STEM majors participate in a full-time and paid intensive research experience working alongside nationally and internationally recognized professors. Students who participate in the Summer Research Academy are encouraged to participate in a "university exchange" by selecting summer research sites away from their home campuses. Faculty who serve as mentors receive funding to support students with needed supplies and travel while participating in their research. 




  • Increased graduation rate: Since its inception, more than 90% of UT LSAMP scholars have graduated from UT System institutions, which is a significant accomplishment as their original goal was to graduate 50% of scholars. 
  • UT LSAMP conference attendance: From 2013-2017, more than 350 students participated in UT LSAMP annual conference. 
  • Participation in research: From 1993-2020, more than 2,100 scholars have participated in the Summer Research Academy. 
  • Increased research abroad: In the last five years (2015-2020), 35 students have researched in Austria, England, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, and Taiwan. Additionally, five students have researched at Brookhaven National Lab.